I can hardly believe my little girl is 3 years old!  It still amazes me at how quickly time goes by and how fast kids really do grow up. 

Lucy’s current favorite animal is horses so I offered up the idea of a cowgirl party to her.  She was all for it!  And lucky for me, pinterest is chock FULL of birthday party ideas. What I did before pinterest, I don’t know.  I was pretty happy to make alot of the things I used for her party.  Although I spent a good amount of money, having making so much myself, I saved a ton of money! I wanted to go for lots of pinks and some brown. I had so much fun putting everything together and now I get to look forward to my first BOY birthday party! (Let’s hope I don’t go too overboard).

 

Image

Image

I came across this pin on pinterest (http://pinterest.com/pin/136867276146829597/) and thought is was just so pretty! Perfect for my little girly girl. And let me say, it was pretty easy! I did a simple butter cream (although using the wilton recipe will all butter, I ended up having to make three whole batches to cover this cake and 24 cupcakes) and it came out cute and delicious!

 

Image

I absolutely love this drink dispenser!  I picked it up at World Market for $14.99!  I also bought the little metal stand for $4.99 and I thought the whole thing was a great deal. I needed one for birthday parties in general so I see it as a good investment!

Image

My best friend’s son’s birthday is exactly two weeks before Lucy’s and at his birthday party she hung up all these great black and gold paper lanterns.  I asked her where she got them and she told me she ordered them online for pretty cheap and spray painted them.  I thought, what a great idea!  I ordered  ten 10 inch paper lanterns (from this site: http://www.paperlanternstore.com/) for $1 a piece!  I spray painted them a light pink and hung them around the patio.  Perfect!  And the best thing?  I can totally flatten them back down and save them for next time!

 

Image

I also made a couple cute little bunting banners from fat quarters and jute (both from Joanns).  They were easy and a nice touch!

Image

 

These were probably my favorite thing I made for the party.  They were so fun!  My dad works for a diesel truck company and was able to bring me several huge boxes.  I cut them up and made these.  I did it all freehand and I am super pleased with how they came out.  The kids really liked them!

Image

Image

 

Image

I wanted something fun for the kids to do.  I was going to do a pinata but honestly, even when Lucy gets candy from other kids’ parties, she hardly ever eats it!  I thought most of them were still pretty young for a game (the kids were 2-4 years old) so I decided on a craft.  Great idea!  The kids loved it and it totally occupied them for a while. I ordered a pack of western foam stickers from oriental trading ($8.25 for 500 pieces!) and the frames are the $1 wood frames from Michaels.  I thought about letting them paint them but decided that was a horrible idea (I don’t think my friends would appreciate their kids being covered in pain) so I did a stain on them the day before the party and I thought they came out super cute.

Image

Image

Image

Image

I made the scrap tutu by following this tutorial I found on pinterest (http://www.jeanierhoades.com/belle-baby-and-fabric-scrap-tutu) Super easy! I got lots of compliments on it and she loved wearing it.:)  I think I bought a quarter yard of 4 different fabrics and some 1 inch elastic.  Thats it!

Image

 

I also made this rope name (I used this tutorial http://greenweddingshoes.com/diy-rope-words-for-your-wedding-day/) but mine didn’t look so hot once I hung it up.  Definitely looked a little droopy.  I’m thinking it’s because I used a heavier/thicker rope than they did it the tutorial.  Oh well, I still liked it!

 

All in all, it was a great party.  Lucy loved it and everyone said I did a great job. I love a good pat on the back. 🙂 

